How to Pray the Sorrowful Mysteries of the Rosary

The Rosary is partly a history lesson, focusing on the events in the life of Jesus Christ. It has been divided into four sets of mysteries known as the “Mysteries of the Rosary”, namely Joyful, Luminous, Sorrowful and Glorious Mysteries of the Rosary. All four Mysteries of the Rosary are further divided into five mysteries, thus amounting to a total of 20 mysteries.

The Rosary prayer involves reflecting on these mysteries, or events from the life of Christ through meditation. Each set of Mysteries are to be recited on specific days of the week and on certain special days.

The Sorrowful Mysteries of the Rosary are to be prayed on Tuesdays, Fridays and every day starting from Ash Wednesday to Easter Sunday. In order to pray the Sorrowful Mysteries, become aware of the five mysteries that it is composed of, and then think about them while you ask God for help, forgiveness and strength.


  • 1

    Reflect on the first Sorrowful Mystery, The Agony in the Garden of Gethsemane. Christ went to the Gethsemane to pray and pour His heart out to God. It was at this moment that he became aware of His crucifixion and the sins that would be committed in the world. The latter caused him so much agony that he started to sweat blood. Think of how sorrowful Christ was for us and repent for your sins.

  • 2

    Meditate upon the second Sorrowful Mystery, The Scourging of Our Lord. Reflect on how the chief priests, elders and scribes handed Christ over to Pontius Pilate, who had Him scourged to please the public. The soldiers whipped him so furiously and ruthlessly that he got completely covered in blood. Think of how Christ suffered the scourging for mankind and pray to God to teach you to forgive and love. Pray the same for others, who are consumed by their lust for revenge.

  • 3

    Think of the third Sorrowful Mystery, The Crowning with sharp thorns. The soldiers were not satisfied with just whipping Christ. For their sadistic pleasure, they made a crown out of thorns and forced it on His head. They went on to mock him, saying “Hail, King of the Jews!” while he suffered the excruciating pain of the thorny crown. Meditate upon His suffering and ask God for courage so that you may be able to hold your own when oppressed and suppressed.

  • 4

    Reflect on the fourth Sorrowful Mystery, The Saviour Carries His Cross. After getting beaten up and tortured, Christ was made to carry the cross to Golgotha all alone. People who once welcomed Him now shouted for His crucifixion. Mediate upon this and pray to God for patience.

  • 5

    Think of the fifth Sorrowful Mystery, The Crucifixion of Our Lord. Spikes were driven through the hands and feet of Christ as He was set up for crucifixion. Reflect on what He suffered on that day for us and pray to God that you hold on to your faith until the end.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × = 6