Difference Between AAT and ACCA Qualification

Although, both AAT and ACCA are related to the field of accounting, but there is a considerable difference between both the qualifications. AAT stands for Association of Accounting Technicians and is only a technical level qualification. On the other hand, ACCA stands for Association for Chartered Certified Accountants and is considered as professional level qualification.

If you want to become an accountant, you can first go for AAT so as to make learn the basics before moving onto ACCA which is advanced level education. Besides, you have to study more subjects in ACCA as compared to AAT.


  • 1


    It is founded in 1980 with the merger of two bodies namely Institute of Accounting Staff and Association of Technicians in Finance and Accounting. It is merely a technical level qualification. There are basically three levels of certifications in this qualification which include level 2 Accounting Certificate, level 3 Diploma course and level 4 Diploma course.

    After completing AAT, you can go for higher education in the field of accounting to become a professional chartered accountant. Furthermore, the difficulty level of the subjects is average and you just have to give reasonable time to studies in order to pass the exams.

    Image courtesy:  gettyimages.co.uk

  • 2


    It is a UK based organisation which offers the certification for chartered accountant. Furthermore, it was founded in 1904 and there have been some considerable changes in the ACCA programme in the past few years. There are many subjects which you have to study in order to complete your diploma.

    You just have to get fifty percent marks in each and every course so as to pass the exam. You can study ACCA from anywhere in the world. Just enrol yourself for the specific exam in which you intend to appear. You can also join a tuition centre or hire a personal tutor for preparation.

    You must know that ACCA also offer the following qualifications:

    - MBA (for ACCA full members), offered in association with Oxford Brookes University
    - BSc(Hons) in Applied Accounting, offered in association with Oxford Brookes University
    - MSc in Financial Management, offered in association with Heriot-Watt University
    - Diploma in Financial Management (DipFM). This certification was introduced in the mid-1980s as the Certified Diploma in Accounting and Finance (CDipAF), a financial qualification designed for managers outside of finance. This qualification was replaced with Foundations in Accountancy awards at the end of 2011
    - Diploma in International Financial Reporting (DipIFR)
    - Certificate in International Auditing (CertIA)
    - Certificate in International Financial Reporting (CertIFR)
    Image courtesy:  gettyimages.co.uk

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× one = 6