Public & National Holidays in Russia

In Russia, a total of thirteen officially recognised national holidays are held every year. Just like all countries across the globe, national holidays in Russia are aimed at commemorating nationally important events.


  • 1

    Holidays in January

    1st - 5th - New Year Holidays

    To celebrate Gregorian calendar's New Year, a public holiday is held on Jan 1st every year. Since 2006, New Year holidays have been extended to a total of five public holidays starting from January 1st and ending on January 5th. Before 2006, only two public holidays were held to celebrate New Year; January 1st and January 2nd.

    7th - Christmas

    The Russian Orthodox Church uses Julian calendar instead of Georgian calendar. That is why in Russia, Christmas is celebrated on January 7th every year. Although the followers of Roman Catholic and various Protestant Churches celebrate Christmas on December 25th, still December 25th is not a national holiday.

  • 2

    Holidays in February

    23rd - The defender of the Fatherland Day

    On February 23rd every year, The Defender of the Fatherland Day is celebrated to commemorate Red Army’s first mass draft in Petrograd and Moscow almost one hundred years ago. National holiday on The Defender of the Fatherland Day is being held since the end of Russian Civil War.

  • 3

    Holidays in May

    1st - Spring and Labour Day

    Back in the Soviet Union days, huge parades were seen marching through the streets of Moscow on May 1st every year, celebrating the International Worker’s Day. In modern day Russia, May 1st is still a public holiday named Spring and Labour Day. However, the day has lost its historic significance considerably.

    9th - Victory Day

    Victory Day is celebrated on May 9th to commemorate German military’s surrender to the Soviet Union and Allied Forces back in 1945 on May 9th. On Red Square in Moscow, a gigantic parade is organised and is hosted by the President of the Russian Federation.

  • 4

    Holidays in June

    12th - Russia's Day

    On June 12th, Russians celebrate Russia’s Day. This national holiday aims at commemorating Russian sovereignty from the USSR back in 1990 and was first celebrated in 1992. Originally, it was named Day of the Adoption of the Declaration of Sovereignty of the Russian Federation, until it was renamed to Russia’s Day in 2002.

  • 5

    Holidays in August

    22nd - National Flag Day

    National Flag Day is a public holiday, held of August 22nd in memory of the victory over Putschists in 1991.

  • 6

    Holidays in November

    3rd - 4th - National Unity Day

    Since 2005, National Unity Day (November 3rd and November 4th) is being celebrated in Russia as a public holiday. The day aims at commemorating the 1612 uprising which forced out Polish invaders from Moscow and was lead by Kuzma Minin and Dmitry Pozharsky.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 + = nine