Public & National Holidays in Nigeria

The Federal Republic of Nigeria, or simply Nigeria, is a federal constitutional republic consisting of 36 states. The federal capital territory of Nigeria is Abuja. Nigeria has a covered area of 923,768,64 Sq. Km and has a population of 110 million. Business hours for banks in Nigeria are 8 a.m. to 1.30 p.m. from Tuesday to Friday and 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Mondays. Federal government offices remain open from 7.30 a.m. to 3.30 p.m. Monday to Friday, while the commercial offices remain open from 8.00 a.m. till 5 p.m. The Nigerian workers observe a long weekend (Saturday-Sunday) every week. Besides weekends, they also enjoy ten public holidays and at least four movable religious holidays.

The federal republic of Nigeria is roughly divided in half between Christians (concentrated in south) and Muslims (who live mostly in north). A public holiday in Nigeria is a holiday that has been established by the Nigerian law makers over the years. However, the Federal government can also declare a public holiday on a certain special occasion that has not yet been listed under national/ public holidays in the Nigerian constitution. Usually the public holidays in Nigeria are meant to celebrate special occasions like the annual celebrations of a historical event (Independence Day), or can be a religious celebration like Christmas. The movable holidays, on the other hand, include the days off observed by the Muslim residents of Nigeria, including Ramadan, Mawlid, Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha. These Muslim holidays may take place at any time of the year and are observed as public holidays under Nigerian law.


  • 1

    Holidays in January

    1st - New Year's Day

    The Nigerians observe a public holiday on January 1 every year to mark the beginning of a new calendar year.

  • 2

    Holidays in April

    Friday preceding Easter Sunday - Good Friday

    It is observed primarily by the Christian citizens of Nigeria, venerating the crucifixion of Jesus Christ, and is observed on the Friday proceeding Easter Sunday.

    Monday after Easter Sunday - Easter Monday

    It is also a religious holiday observed by the Christians the day after Easter Sunday.

  • 3

    Holidays in May

    1st - Worker’s Day

    Worker’s Day is an annual holiday observed on May 1 of each year to celebrate the achievements of the labour movement.

    27th - Children’s Day

    Children’s Day is observed on 27th May every year to honour children globally.

    29th - Democracy day

    May 29 is celebrated as Democracy day in Nigeria. It is also a public holiday that is held annually.

  • 4

    Holidays in June

    12th - Commemorations day

    June 12 Commemorations are observed only in the South West geopolitical zone of Nigeria to commemorate martyr of military-annulled elections of June 12, 1993, MKO Abiola.

  • 5

    Holidays in October

    1st - Independence Day

    Nigerians observe Independence Day on 1st October every year to celebrate independence of Nigeria. Often this public holiday is not declared as National Day in Nigeria, but schools, banks and other public buildings remain closed.

  • 6

    Holidays in December

    25th -  Christmas Day

    Christmas Day is observed globally on December 25 every year to commemorate the birth of Jesus.

    26th or 27th - Boxing Day

    Boxing Day is traditionally celebrated on the day following Christmas, but these days it is better known as a bank holiday on the first or second weekday after Christmas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eight + = 17