Public & National Holidays in Tanzania

Tanzania is an East African nation which was formally formed in 1964 following the union of Tanganyika (mainland territory) and coastal terrain Zanzibar. Tanganyika was a colony and a part of German East Africa (1880’s to 1919) before becoming a British mandate in late 1919.

Public holidays in Tanzania are generally established by the Tanzanian law makers under the Public Holidays Act of the Laws of Tanzania (Section 2, Chapter 35). Overall the Tanzanians observe 17 public holidays in a calendar year, but the number can vary if a festival falls on Saturday or Sunday.


  • 1

    Holidays in January

    1st - New Year’s Day

    Like all other parts of the World, January 1 is observed as a New Year’s Day in Tanzania as well. The day is declared off by the Tanzanian government to celebrate the beginning of the New Gregorian calendar. The day is celebrated with midnight fireworks.

    12th - Zanzibar Revolution Anniversary

    The Tanzanians observe Zanzibar Revolution Anniversary on 12 January every year to commemorate the achievements of the local African revolutionaries who put an end to Sultan of Zanzibar’s reign in 1964.

  • 2

    Holidays in March/April

    Friday preceding Easter Sunday - Good Friday

    The Christian community of Tanzania observes Good Friday every year, sometime in March/ April to revere the crucifixion of Jesus Christ at Calvary. It is observed during the holy week, n Friday just before the Easter Sunday.

    1st Sunday after full moon - Easter

    Easter is also a religious holiday that is movable, i.e. it does not follow the Gregorian calendar, rather it is celebrated on the first Sunday after full moon between March 22 and April 25 every year.

    Monday following Easter Sunday - Easter Monday

    Easter Monday is the third public holiday observed during the holy week, and is the subsequent Monday after the Easter Sunday.

  • 3

    Holidays in April

    7th - Sheikh Abeid Amani Karume Day

    This day is observed on April 7 every year to commemorate the Vice President Sheikh Abeid Karume’s assassination in 1972.

    26th - Union Day

    April 26 is observed as Union Day in Tanzania to celebrate the merger of Zanzibar and Tanganyika in 1964.

  • 4

    Holidays in May

    1st - Worker’s Day

    Like all other parts of the World, May 1 is celebrated as Worker’s Day in Tanzania to regard the achievements of the Labour Movement.

    1st - King's Brother's Birthday

    The Tanzanians also celebrate Birthday Of Chirtopher Korir on May 1.

  • 5

    Holidays in July

    7th - Saba Saba Day

    Saba Saba day is observed to commemorate the Dar es Salaam International Trade Fair on 7th July every year.

  • 6

    Holidays in August

    8th - Nane Nane Day

    Nane Nane Day is actually farmer’s Day and is observed annually on August 8.

  • 7

    Holidays in October

    14th - Nyerere Day

    October 14 is celebrated as Nyerere Day to remember the Father of the Nation, Julius Kambarage Nyerere.

    18th - King's Birthday

    October 18 is observed as a holiday in Tanzania to celebrate the birthday of King Aaron I

  • 8

    Holidays in December

    9th - Independence Day

    Tanzanians celebrate Independence Day on December 9 every year to celebrate the country’s independence from the United Kingdom in 1963.

    25th - Christmas Day

    December 25 is a public holiday to celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ one = 9