Difference Between Visible Light and X rays

Electromagnetic spectrum is a very handy concept which is used in the study and research of physics. X rays are a kind of electromagnetic rays which are used to help medical doctors determine the patient’s condition. The most important usage of visible light is human vision. There is a major difference between visible light and X rays and how they are produced is also very important to know.

You should know their definitions as well. Be aware of the fact that X rays are high energy electromagnetic waves. On the other hand, visible light is medium energy electromagnetic waves. Also, make sure you know that the visible spectrum is very narrow in comparison with the X-ray spectrum. Moreover, understand that X rays can pass through the human body as it is very commonly used for medical purposes whereas the visible light cannot penetrate the human body as it does not have that sort of properties.


  • 1

    X rays

    They are a kind of electromagnetic rays. Electromagnetic waves are categorized into a number of regions according to their respective energy levels. X rays, infrared, ultraviolet, radio waves and some others are examples of it. Everything that is visible to the naked eye is because of the visible region of the electromagnetic spectrum. A spectrum is the event of energy against intensity of the rays.

    Moreover, energy can also be given in frequency or wavelength. The wavelength of X rays range from 0.01 nanometers to 10 nanometers. If you apply the equation C=Fλ, where C is the speed of light, λ is the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave and f is the frequency of the electromagnetic wave. Then we get a frequency range from 30 petahertz to 30 exahertz for X rays. They are used frequently in medical centers as well.

  • 2

    Visible Light

    It is easily the most effective kind of electromagnetic radiation as it is the fundamental human vision. They derive their name from human vision and is divided into 7 key colours. However, know that there are infinite number of colours in the 7 colours. The 7 colours include Violet. Indigo, Blue, Green, Orange, Yellow and Red. They take a wavelength region of 390 nm to 750 nm and this wavelength is too small in comparison with the range of other kinds of waves. The human eye can only see at a very narrow window of light and not other than that.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

6 − four =