Public & National Holidays in Holland

Holland, also known as Netherlands, consists of twelve provinces in Europe plus three islands in Caribbean. As far as the European part is concerned, Holland’s neighbours are: Belgium, Germany and the United Kingdom.

Although North and South Holland are just two provinces, Netherlands is often called with this name. A parliamentary system is running the country for past many years. Holland is one of the first countries with an elected parliament.

Its role is in the international politics is very important. Holland played a crucial part in formulating several major organisations, such as EU, NATO, OECD and WTO. The country’s economic progress is also admirable.

Holland has one of the highest per capital income. At one stage, it was declared as the happiest country on the surface of this earth. The Dutch are leading the whole world in many fields, like sports and economy. Being one of the most developed nations does not mean that the Dutch only work all the time.

In every calendar year, the Dutch nation enjoys several public and national holidays. They observe every cultural and religious occasion very keenly. Netherlands has 13 public holidays.


  • 1

    Holidays in January

    New Year's Day (Nieuwjaar – Dutch Name)

    Most of the countries call the last day of the year as ‘New Year’s Eve. But in Holland, the day is called ‘Old Year’s Day’.

  • 2

    Easter (Eerste Paasdag en Tweede Paasdag)

    The Dutch take two days off on this occasion; Easter Sunday and the subsequent Monday. The date of this event varies each year.

  • 3

    Holidays in April

    Queen's Day (Koninginnedag)

    Originally, this day was celebrated on the birthday of the queen. But now the Queen’s day is celebrated on the birthday of the late Queen-mother, Juliana. The Dutch do not celebrate this day on Sunday.

    So, if April 30th is by chance a Sunday, the day will be celebrated one day before. Since Queen Beatrix has announced her abdication, Koninginnedag has turned in King’s Day from 2014 onwards. Still, it is celebrated only in April.

  • 4

    Holidays in May

    Liberation Day (Bevrijdingsdag)

    On May 5th, the Dutch celebrate the capitulation of German forces in World War II. However, this public holiday comes only once in five years.

  • 5

    Ascension Day (Hemelvaartsdag)

    It comes 40 days after Easter.

  • 6

    Pentecost (Pinksteren)

    Seven weeks after Easter, the Dutch celebrate a couple of days of Pentecost.

  • 7

    Holidays in December

    Christmas (Kerstmis)

    Just like Pentecost, the Dutch celebrate two days of Christmas; December 25th, and the Boxing Day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

+ 2 = seven