Public & National Holidays in Mexico

Mexico is a country located on South of the United States of America, being one of the most developed countries in the Latin American region. The state of Mexico has declared a list of holidays announced for honouring different events and people.


  • 1

    Holidays in January

    1st - Año Nuevo

    The first day of the year is an official holiday declared by the state as in most of the countries of the world. The day is known as Año Nuevo in Spanish, and is celebrated with real enthusiasm by the locals. Most of the institutions including banks, offices and factories remain closed.

  • 2

    Holidays in February

    5th - Dia de la Constitucion

    This is the day when the Constitution of Mexico was declared. The day is also known as Dia de la Constitucion among the locals. The constitution was declared on this very day in 1917 after the fall of Emperor Maximus. The date is observed on the first Monday of February.

  • 3

    Holidays in March

    21st - Birthday of Benito Juarez

    It’s the birthday of Benito Juarez, who is one of the most famous Mexican Presidents. The date is also observed on the first Monday, but instead of February, it’s March.

  • 4

    Holidays in May

    1st - Labor Day

    Like several other nations around the world, Mexico also celebrates Labor Day on 1st May. It’s declared as an official holiday in the honour of workers throughout the country. Official institutions like banks and industries remain closed. However, other commerce centres such as shopping plazas remain open.

  • 5

    Holidays in September

    16th - Dia de la Independencia

    Locally known as the Dia de la Independencia, it’s the Independence Day of Mexico. The date is commemorated when Father Miguel Hidalgo made his 'cry for independence' in the town of Dolores Hidalgo. Hidalgo’s outcry for independence served as the spark for igniting the local populace to revolt against the current regime, which eventually led Mexico's independence from Spanish rule.

  • 6

    Holidays in November

    2nd - Dia de los Fieles Difuntos

    The day is marked as the Day of the Dead (Dia de los Fieles Difuntos), and is a state declared holiday. The Day of the Dead is an alternative for Halloween, which is celebrated all over the world on October 31. At times, the government also includes October 31 and November 1 along with the Day of the Dead, making it a series of three continuous holidays for the local populace. Most of the country’s banks and businesses are close on November 2, deemed to be one of the most important religious holidays in Mexico.

    20th - Dia de la Revolucion

    The date marks the start of the Mexican Revolution of 1910, led by Francisco Madero. The day is also known as the Dia de la Revolucion in Spanish, and it marked the start of an insurgency against the dictator, Porfirio Diaz.

  • 7

    Holidays in December

    1st - Transmision del Poder Ejecutivo Federal

    It's the date when a new President is sworn in the office, being termed as the Transmision del Poder Ejecutivo Federal. The new President after a tenure of every six years, and upon the date of every transition of one government to another, a state holiday is declared. The next state holiday is scheduled for December 1, 2018.

    25th - Dia de Navidad

    Christmas Day, also known as Dia de Navidad is celebrated all around the globe with real zeal and zest. Like most of the Christian countries, it’s a state declared holiday, being one of the most popular holidays in the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

× 7 = twenty eight