House of Commons London

The lower house of the United Kingdom’s Parliament is known as the House of Commons, while the parliament also includes the House of Lords and the Sovereign per se. The House of Commons comprises of democratically chosen body that has nearly 650 members, who are commonly called as Members of Parliament (MPs). The House of Commons of England was developed somewhere between the 14th century and it has been in existence since then, later becoming the House of Commons of Great Britain, when political amalgamation took place with Scotland. Changes kept taking place in terms of the powers of the House of Commons, but a major change came when the Parliament Act 1911 increased its legislative powers over the House of Lords.

Visit: House of Commons Website


  • 1

    Facilities & Services:

    The power of House of Commons can be judged from the fact that the government of the day is first and foremost responsible to them. Therefore, a prime minister can stay in his or her office until he or she has support of the House of Commons. In addition to this, House of Commons also has the power to pass a legislative bill for the Royal Assent if it has been twice rejected by the House of Lords. In order to gain further information on the responsibilities of the House of Commons, click here.

  • 2

    Organization Structure:

    The governing structure of the House of Commons is as:

    The Speaker
    House of Commons Commission
    Chief Executive and Clerk of the House of Commons
    Management Board
    Administration Committee
    Finance and Services Committee
    Administration Estimate Audit Committee

  • 3

    Operational Hours:

    When Parliament is in session, the House of Commons’ office stays open from 9 am-6 pm between Monday and Thursday, whereas on other days, their opening hours remain 9 am-5 pm.

  • 4

    How to Contact:

    People who wish to seek any information from the House of Commons in London can contact the authorities on the telephone number and email address mentioned under.

    Contact: +44 20 7219 4272

  • 5


    House of Commons, London, Greater London SW1A 0AA, United Kingdom.

  • 6

    How to Get to House of Commons:

    By Tube

    Westminster tube station is located at a walking distance of 0.2 miles from the House of Commons. People can easily cover this gap on foot in 4 minutes if they head west on Bridge Street/A302 towards Canon Row and then turn left onto Parliament Square/St. From there, move onto Margaret Street/A302/A3212 and continue to follow A3212 until they find the destination on the left. View Map

    By Bus

    Abingdon Street (M) will best suit the visitors of the House of Commons as it is the nearest bus stop to this place - about 240 ft away and 1 minute by walk if the bus users head north on Abingdon Street/A3212. In order to get to Abingdon Street (M), use these bus numbers 3, 87, N3 and N87.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four + = 11