List of Countries Participating in 2012 London Olympics

After every two years, since 1896 the Olympics games has granted many countries the integrity, to host this prestigious event. Besides the eminence of the host position, this ethnic tradition of honoring games, gives an opportunity to athletes from all over the globe, to participate in urge to win any of the three metals, gold, silver or bronze. In year 2012 London is auspicious enough to host this huge event, fourth time. The first time United Kingdom took the responsibility of being the host of Olympics, which was back in 1908, second time in 1944, and the third time in 1948. According to the National Olympic Committees (NOCs)204 countries offered to participate in the high-status event. This Olympic movement is responsible for promoting development techniques for athletes and coaches. Besides that they are also responsible to finalize the participants of the Olympic Games. According to them 150 countries are lucky enough to represent themselves in the 2012 Olympics.


  • 1


    Africa, besides being world’s second largest continent, is also famous for being the 2nd most populous continent of the Earth.  31 countries will be participating from the continent of Africa.

    Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

  • 2


    Covering the northern and eastern hemisphere of the Earth, Asia is the largest continent. Besides holding the title of biggest continent it also hosts 60% of the world’s population. In 2012 Olympics, 34 countries from this part of the planet will be sending their athletes to participate in the prestigious event, which is taking place in London.

    Afghanistan ,Bahrain, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, North Korea, South Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mongolia, Oman, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan and Vietnam.

  • 3


    Europe is famous for being the oldest continent. The host city of 2012 Olympics is also situated in this continent. 44 countries that will be given a chance to fortify themselves at victorious positions, are listed below:

    Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, British Virgin Islands, Bulgaria, Cayman Islands, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine and United Kingdom.

  • 4

    North America:

    Touching the border of Arctic Ocean from the north side, Atlantic Ocean from the east and Pacific Ocean from the west and south, North America can be found in the Northern Hemisphere. Athletes from 22 countries including United States of America will be taking part in the Olympics.

    American Samoa , Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago, Virgin Islands and the United States.

  • 5


    From Oceania, 6 countries which consist of Australia as well will be seen in the Olympics Games.

    Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Samoa

  • 6

    South America:

    This continent covers a little portion of west and north hemisphere along with a great portion of south hemisphere. 10 countries located in this continent will be seen in the 2012 Olympics.

    Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four + = 5