How to Turn Gps off on Android

GPS (Global Positioning System) is an important feature of every Android phone. It is a useful service, which pinpoints your location on surface of the earth. When using Google maps, it certainly guides you to find the exact address of a place anywhere on the earth.

However, it sometimes becomes very irritating for the Android users. It keeps on telling the location, which looks odd. The biggest drawback of this service is that the Android phone consumes plenty of battery while using this system.

In the meantime, if you are not using Wifi, which you cannot throughout the day, it drains plenty of Mobile Data, which might prove expensive, depending on the rates of your service provider. Therefore, it is very important to turn your GPS off on Android. Turning it on and off is not a difficult procedure, so you can restart GPS, whenever required.

In this article, we show you how to switch off GPS on your Google Android device. We are specifically talking about the user of Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0.4), but the procedure is almost identical for any other version of Android.

Instructions

  • 1

    First of all, switch on your device, making sure that there are no screen locks. After getting the main screen in front of you, push the ‘Main Menu’ button, for which you phone surely has a dedicated key. Having entered the menu, you need to find out the icon for ‘System Settings’.

  • 2

    After entering the settings, navigate to ‘Location Services’ which you will find under the heading that says ‘Personal’. Those who are using Gingerbread need to go to Location & Security.

    Within the menu, you will see different options, such as Google’s location service, GPS source, Location & Google search. Among these, you will find GPS satellites.

  • 3

    There is a box right in front of the text. By checking it, you let apps use GPS to pinpoint your location. Don’t be confused, because by checking you are disallowing the apps to use GPS. There is nothing wrong in it.

    The Gingerbread users need to uncheck the box. In this case, your phone will come up with a warning message, and you mostly need to tap ‘Agree’ option. Don’t forget to read the statement underneath carefully. Before leaving the page, you should confirm that the job has been done the right way.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


six − = 0